Wolff & Sonderhouse, LLP
Put Our Experience To Work For You
262-232-6699
Available 7 Days a Week/ 24 Hours a Day
Practice Areas Menu

Penalties and punishments for marijuana sale and cultivation

Certain areas of the country have legalized marijuana for medical and recreational use. However, in Wisconsin, it continues to be illegal with the exception of non-psychoactive medical CBD oil, which is used to treat a limited range of conditions.

In spite of the illegality of marijuana, some individuals are selling and cultivating the plant unlawfully. As such, state and federal law enforcement officials are actively investigating any suspected cultivation and sale activity.

However, police do not always arrest individuals appropriately for these offenses. For example, you might have been accused of marijuana cultivation simply because you were in the wrong place at the wrong time. Or, you might have been accused of marijuana sales when you were not selling the drug, but merely in possession of it.

What will happen if I'm convicted of marijuana sale or cultivation?

If accused of marijuana sale or cultivation -- and convicted of the offense by a court of law -- individuals can face serious criminal consequences. Here are the penalties and punishments associated with a conviction of marijuana sale and cultivation in Wisconsin. If convicted of selling or cultivating marijuana in the amount of:

  • 200 grams or under (approximately four plants or less), it is considered a felony that is punishable with as much as a $10,000 fine and/or as many as 3.5 years in prison.
  • 200 to 1,000 grams (approximately 5 to 12 plants), the felony penalties are a maximum of $10,000 in fines and/or a maximum of 6 years in prison.
  • 1,000 to 2,500 grams (between 21 and 50 plants), the punishment is a maximum of $25,000 in fines and/or up to 10 years in prison.
  • 2,500 to 10,000 grams (51 to 200 plants), the penalty is a maximum of 12.5 years in prison and/or a fine of $25,000.
  • 10,000-plus grams (over 200 plants), the punishment is a maximum of 15 years in prison and/or $25,000 in fines.

You are not guilty until proven so by a court of law

It's important to remember that even if you've been accused of marijuana cultivation or sale, it does not mean that you're guilty. Furthermore, it does not mean that you will be punished.

Before a punishment can occur, accused individuals must be proved to be guilty beyond a reasonable doubt in court. Until that happens, you will have every opportunity to defend yourself against your drug allegations during your legal proceedings.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Back to Top