Individuals convicted of a felony in the state of Wisconsin are not permitted to possess a firearm. In fact, if you are convicted of firearm possession following a felony conviction, you will face stiff criminal punishments.
Wisconsin Act 109 establishes the penalties associated with firearm possession by a felon. However, before describing these penalties, it's important to understand who can and cannot possess a firearm in Wisconsin. If you can answer yes to any of the following questions, then you are not permitted to possess a firearm:
-- Have you had a prior felony conviction?
-- Were you adjudicated delinquent regarding an act that, had you been an adult, would be considered a felony.
-- Did you receive a verdict of not guilty for a felony act because of mental disease or mental defect?
If you answered yes to any of the above, then firearm possession for you is a Class G felony that can be punished with up to a 10-year prison sentence and up to a $25,000 fine. If your prior felony conviction involved a violent crime, and your firearm possession happened within five years of the violent offense, then you could be in danger of a mandatory three-year minimum sentence.
Ultimately, the punishments related to a felon in possession of a firearm offense can vary depending on the facts and circumstances surrounding the arrest and charges. If you have questions about how defend against such charges in Wisconsin criminal court, a criminal defense lawyer may be able to help.
At Wolff & Sonderhouse, LLP, defend those suspected of crimes against all manner of criminal accusations. Our lawyers are available to speak with anyone about the facts surrounding their criminal allegations in a free, no-obligations consultation.