Free Consultations | Available 24 / 7

Call Us262-232-6699

711 W. Moreland Blvd. Suite 100
Waukesha, WI 53188

Understanding Wisconsin Disorderly Conduct Laws

 Posted on February 05, 2024 in Criminal Law

Blog ImageAnyone behaving in a way that disturbs the peace can be charged with disorderly conduct and face the associated penalties. Being violent, indecent, obnoxious, or loud in a public or private place is against the law and is often easy to prove. You do not need to actually disturb anyone to receive a disorderly conduct charge but an experienced attorney can help you better understand the legalities of the situation.

Disorderly Conduct Penalties

Disorderly conduct is classified as a Class B misdemeanor charge and can see an individual punished by a maximum stay in jail of 90 days along with a $1,000 fine. These crimes do not often take much to see someone charged and are one of the most charged offenses in Wisconsin.

The Role of Speech in a Disorderly Conduct Charge

Speech alone can be, but rarely is, enough to charge someone with disorderly conduct. The speech must be specifically used with purposeful intent to cause a disturbance for it to be considered disorderly conduct. 

When Arrested For Disorderly Conduct

Disorderly conduct in a domestic situation will likely see the perpetrator arrested and taken to jail. So long as the only charge received is a misdemeanor, it is likely that the perpetrator will be able to post bail and be released. A domestic disturbance that could land you a disorderly conduct charge may include:

  • A shoving match between you and another person

  • Loudly shouting/screaming profanities or lewd comments toward another person

  • Provoking or threatening another person through speech or actions

Those unable to post bail or who have received a felony charge, possibly on a domestic battery offense, will likely need to stay in jail until they can present themselves in front of a judge.

Regardless of which scenario you may fall into, if there is a domestic situation, then it is likely you will be given a 72-hour no-contact order. A no-contact order means that you cannot make contact with the other individual or individuals involved in the domestic disturbance.

When arrested for disorderly conduct it is important to contact an experienced attorney in these kinds of cases. A hard-nosed attorney with a solid defense may have the legal know-how to get your charges reduced or dropped.

Contact a Milwaukee County, WI Criminal Defense Attorney

Disorderly conduct is a minor crime in Wisconsin but should still be taken seriously. No matter the reason for the charge, a skilled Milwaukee, WI disorderly conduct defense lawyer from Bucher, Wolff & Sonderhouse, LLP will vehemently defend your rights. For a free consultation to discuss your case, contact the office at 262-232-6699.

Share this post:
NTL BBB Best DUI Lawyers in Milwaukee EDWBA WACDL Commerce WCBA SBW
Back to Top