Free Consultations | Available 24 / 7

Call Us262-232-6699

711 W. Moreland Blvd. Suite 205
Waukesha, WI 53188

What Are the Penalties for a Theft Charge Conviction in Wisconsin?

Posted on in Criminal Law

Waukesha County criminal defense attorney

Many people use the terms “robbery,” “burglary” and “theft,”  during conversation as if they are one and the same. However, many people may not know that there is a legal distinction between all three of those crimes. A burglary occurs when a person enters a dwelling and takes items from that dwelling. Robbery occurs when a person steals property from another person or another person’s presence by using force or threat of force. Theft includes a wider variety of actions and could apply to several different situations. If you have been charged with the crime of theft in Wisconsin, you should speak with a criminal defense attorney about your options.

What Constitutes Theft in Wisconsin?

Under the law in Wisconsin, you can be subject to a theft charge if you:

  • Knowingly take, use, keep, or sell any property and you do not intend to return the property to the owner;

  • Transfer, conceal or keep any money that you have control over due to your office, employment, or business without consent from the owner;

  • Lack consent from the owner and intentionally take property that you have a legal interest in from the person who has superior ownership of the property;

  • Obtain the title of a property through means of deceit, fraud, or false representation; and

  • Intentionally fail to return any personal property that belongs to another person with the intent of permanently depriving the owner of the property. 

Penalties for a Theft Charge

If the value of the stolen property is valued at less than $2,500, the crime is charged as a Class A misdemeanor. A crime that involves property that is valued at more than $2,500 is charged as a felony, depending on the value of the stolen property. A theft charge can be charged as anything from a Class I felony to a Class F felony. Meaning you could face up to nine months in prison and up to $10,000 in fines for a misdemeanor theft charge. If the theft is classified as a felony, you could face three and a half to 12.5 years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines.

Speak With Our Pewaukee, WI Theft Defense Lawyers Today

Being accused of theft can be a stressful experience, especially if you are not accustomed to the criminal justice system. Our Waukesha County theft defense attorneys are here to help you determine what your best course of action would be to resolve any criminal charges you may be facing. At Wolff & Sonderhouse, LLP, our team is here to make your life easier. To schedule a free consultation with one of our defense lawyers, call our office today at 262-232-6699. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

 

Sources:

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/943/iii/20

 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/939/iv/50

 

NTL BBB Best DUI Lawyers in Milwaukee EDWBA WACDL Commerce WCBA SBW
Back to Top