Free Consultations | Available 24 / 7

Call Us262-232-6699

711 W. Moreland Blvd. Suite 205
Waukesha, WI 53188

What Are the Penalties for Assault and Battery in Wisconsin?

Posted on in Violent crimes

Milwaukee assault and battery defense attorney

Being accused of any crime is a serious matter, but being accused of a violent offense often has much more significant consequences. Violent crimes tend to carry stiffer penalties than others. In most cases, these crimes carry the possibility of many different punishments, such as jail time, fines, probation, and a permanent criminal record. If you have been accused of committing assault and/or battery in Wisconsin, it can have a lasting impact on your personal and professional life. Therefore, it is crucial to speak to a criminal defense lawyer who can help build a strong defense on your behalf.

What Is Assault?

In a general sense, an assault occurs when an individual causes another person to reasonably fear bodily harm. Physical contact does not have to be made for assault charges to apply in Wisconsin. In most cases, however, the act also involves a battery offense, which is the charge that prosecutors typically focus on.

What Is Battery?

In the state of Wisconsin, there are many different types of battery charges, with varying penalties for each. Typically, battery occurs when a person intentionally inflicts bodily harm on another person. This crime is classified as a Class A misdemeanor and carries a possible jail sentence of up to nine months and a $10,000 maximum fine.

In other circumstances, the penalties for battery depend on the extent of the injuries or harm that was done to the victim. For example, battery resulting in “substantial bodily harm,” is a Class I felony, which can be punished by up to three and a half years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. Battery with “great bodily harm,” is classified as a Class E or H felony, depending on whether or not intent can be proven. A Class E felony can be punished by up to 15 years in prison and up to $50,000 in fines, while a Class H felony can be punished by up to six years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

The crime of battery can also be prosecuted under special circumstances, and the potential penalties will depend on the specific details of the offense. For example, punishments for assault on certain people, such as police officers, emergency medical care providers, nurses, public transit personnel, or others, can result in elevated charges, regardless of the amount of bodily harm.

Contact a Menomonee Falls Violent Crimes Defense Attorney 

If you have been charged with assault, battery, or any other violent crime, it is imperative that you seek professional legal counsel from a skilled Waukesha County criminal defense lawyer. At Wolff & Sonderhouse, LLP, our dedicated legal team has the knowledge you need to help you form an effective defense. Our staff includes former Brookfield Police Detective Peter Wolff, providing us with an understanding of how the judicial system works and the tactics prosecutors use. If you are facing any type of criminal charges, you should call our office today at 262-232-6699. We offer free consultations, and we answer our phones 24/7.

 

Sources:

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/940/II/19

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/939/IV/50

NTL BBB Best DUI Lawyers in Milwaukee EDWBA WACDL Commerce WCBA SBW
Back to Top