Free Consultations | Available 24 / 7

Call Us262-232-6699

711 W. Moreland Blvd. Suite 205
Waukesha, WI 53188

What Are the Penalties for Fleeing the Scene of a Crash in Wisconsin?

Posted on in Criminal Law

Waukesha County criminal defense attorney traffic violation

There are many traffic offenses with which you could be charged in Wisconsin; however, one of the more serious offenses involves fleeing the scene of an accident. According to AAA, there were an estimated 737,100 hit-and-run crashes that took place in the United States in 2015. Fleeing the scene of a car accident, which is also known as a hit-and-run accident, is considered to be a criminal offense in Wisconsin and could even potentially carry jail time as a consequence in some circumstances. If you have been charged with fleeing the scene of an accident in Wisconsin, you should immediately contact a traffic violations defense attorney.

Wisconsin Law Concerning Drivers Stopping After Accidents

There are many reasons why a person may not stick around after getting into an accident with another driver. Perhaps they did not have driver’s insurance or a driver’s license. Maybe they were simply scared and panicked when they drove away. Whatever the reason, leaving the scene of an accident is illegal in Wisconsin. Depending on the situation you are in, Wisconsin law dictates the actions you must take if you are in an accident with another driver.

If the other vehicle is occupied, you are required to:

  • Give your name, address, and vehicle registration number to the other driver.

  • Present your driver’s license to the other driver, if requested.

  • Provide reasonable assistance to the other driver, including transporting or making arrangements to transport the other person to seek medical treatment if necessary.

If the vehicle is not occupied at the time of the accident, you are required to attempt to find the owner or leave a note in a plainly visible place on or in the vehicle stating what happened and your name, address, and vehicle registration number.

Penalties for Leaving an Accident Site

The severity of the charges for fleeing an accident typically depends on the amount of harm done to the other person involved in the accident. If there were no bodily injuries reported, you will likely be facing a misdemeanor charge with fines between $300 to $1,000 and up to six months in jail. However, if the other driver sustained great bodily harm or died as a result of the accident, you will likely face felony charges. These could result in fines of anywhere from $50,000 to $100,000 and up to 25 years in prison.

Contact a Waukesha County Traffic Violations Defense Lawyer for Help

Getting into a car accident can be a very scary experience, but the worst thing you can do is leave the scene if you do get into a collision. At Wolff & Sonderhouse, LLP, our team of attorneys has more than 20 years of combined experience in the field of criminal law. Our skilled Menomonee Falls hit-and-run defense attorneys can help you form a defense for any charges you may be facing relating to you fleeing from the scene of a motor vehicle accident. To schedule a free consultation, call our office today at 262-232-6699.

 

Sources:

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/346/xi/69

https://aaafoundation.org/hit-and-run-crashes-prevalence-contributing-factors-and-countermeasures/#:~:text=There%20were%20an%20estimated%20737%2C100,recorded%20(NHTSA%2C%202017).

 

NTL BBB Best DUI Lawyers in Milwaukee EDWBA WACDL Commerce WCBA SBW
Back to Top