Free Consultations | Available 24 / 7

Call Us262-232-6699

711 W. Moreland Blvd. Suite 205
Waukesha, WI 53188

When Can Gun Possession Lead to Criminal Charges in Wisconsin?

Posted on in Criminal Law

New Berlin Criminal Defense AttorneyCitizens of the state of Wisconsin have a right to bear arms, but there are certain restrictions in place that are meant to protect public safety, and violations of the laws related to firearm possession can lead to criminal charges. It is important to be aware of these restrictions if you are considering purchasing a firearm or already possess one. 

Illegal Possession of a Firearm 

In Wisconsin, it is illegal for certain people to possess firearms or ammunition. These people include convicted felons, juveniles who have been adjudicated delinquent for offenses that would be considered felonies for adult offenders, people who are subject to restraining orders due to allegations of domestic violence or abuse, and people who have been involuntarily committed to mental health treatment facilities. If one of these individuals is found in possession of a firearm, they may be charged with a Class G felony, and if they are convicted, they may be sentenced to up to 10 years in prison, fined up to $25,000, or both.

Illegally Carrying a Concealed Weapon 

Under Wisconsin law, it is illegal for any person to carry a concealed weapon without a valid concealed carry license issued by the state of Wisconsin or another state. If an individual is caught carrying a dangerous weapon on their person without the proper license, they may be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. A conviction on these charges may result in a prison sentence of up to nine months, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.

For those who do have a valid concealed carry license, there are some locations where it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon. These include police stations, courthouses, and the areas of airports that are beyond security checkpoints. Violations of these restrictions may result in a maximum fine of $500, imprisonment for up to 30 days, or both.

Carrying Firearms Where Prohibited by Law 

It is illegal for individuals to carry firearms in certain locations. Possession of a gun in a school zone, which includes school buildings, the grounds of a school, or anywhere within 1,000 feet of school grounds, is a Class I felony, and a conviction can result in a prison sentence of up to three years and six months, a maximum fine of $10,000, or both. Carrying a gun in any building owned or leased by the state of Wisconsin is a Class A misdemeanor. Carrying a handgun in any location where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed by customers, such as bars, restaurants, hotels, or public festivals, is also a Class A misdemeanor.

Contact Our Waukesha County Weapons Charges Attorneys

It is important for residents of Wisconsin to understand what constitutes legal gun use and what does not in order to protect themselves from facing criminal charges related to gun possession or use. By being aware of state laws regarding firearms and other weapons, you can ensure that you are taking all necessary steps to stay within the confines of the law when it comes to owning and using firearms. If you have been charged with violating any gun-related laws in Wisconsin, it is vital that you seek legal counsel immediately so that you can avoid a criminal conviction and minimize any potential penalties that you may face. Contact the Muskego gun crime defense lawyers at Wolff & Sonderhouse, LLP to get the legal help you need in these situations. Call our office at 262-232-6699 to set up your free consultation today.

 

Sources:

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/941.29

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/175/60

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/948.605

NTL BBB Best DUI Lawyers in Milwaukee EDWBA WACDL Commerce WCBA SBW
Back to Top