Free Consultations | Available 24 / 7

Call Us262-232-6699

711 W. Moreland Blvd. Suite 205
Waukesha, WI 53188
Recent blog posts

Waukesha, WI criminal defense attorney

If you have ever had the experience of being a defendant in the criminal justice system, you know that there is a lot of uncertainty involved in the process of being arrested and charged with a crime. Every criminal case is unique because every situation is different, but they do typically follow a similar pattern. Once you are charged with a crime, your attorney will begin to work out a defense strategy for you, which may include a plea bargain or it may include proceeding to trial. Once your case has come to a decision, the judge will then determine the sentence for your crime. Depending on the facts and circumstances surrounding your case, you could be at risk for a harsher sentence.

Aggravating Factors in Wisconsin

Once you have reached the sentencing stage of your case, the judge will review your case in its entirety and determine if aggravating factors are present that would warrant additional penalties. Various aggravating factors could apply to any crime in Wisconsin, but there are also aggravating factors that are specific to a certain offense only. For example, if the defendant attempted to conceal his or her identity while committing the act, this could be applied to most crimes. However, something like knowing you are HIV positive would only be an aggravating factor if you were being tried for a sex crime.

...

Oconomowoc divorce attorney asset division

For many people, getting a divorce is a very emotional process, but what many people do not realize is that divorce can have a huge impact on their finances. The decisions that you make during your divorce will affect your financial health for years to come, which is why you will want to be sure to prepare yourself for life after divorce as much as possible. One of the things you should keep an eye on during your divorce is your credit score. According to one survey of divorced Americans, 38 percent of respondents said they saw their credit score drop by more than 50 points after their divorce. In general, the act of getting a divorce in itself will not affect your credit score, but actions that are taken before and during the divorce can dictate the effect the divorce has on your credit. Below are a few tips to help you protect your credit during your Wisconsin divorce.

Pull Your Credit Report for Your Review

The first thing you should do is to request a copy of your credit report from all three credit bureaus: Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion. This will allow you to see a complete picture of every credit account that is linked to your name. From here, you can differentiate between your personal and your joint accounts, as well as note on which accounts your spouse is an authorized user. You will want to remove your spouse as a designated user from any of your accounts as soon as possible.

...

Waukesha County criminal defense attorney OWI

Nobody ever plans to get pulled over and arrested for drinking and driving, but it happens more often than you may think. There were nearly 29,000 people arrested for operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol in Wisconsin in 2015, according to the Department of Transportation (DoT). If you are arrested for OWI, chances are you will also be convicted as the DoT also stated that the drivers in 93 percent of the OWI cases that were charged were found guilty. If you are convicted of even a first-time OWI offense in Wisconsin, you could have your driver’s license suspended or revoked for six to nine months, making your life more difficult. Fortunately, you may be able to apply for an occupational license, which would alleviate some of the hardship.

Obtaining an Occupational License

The first question that is often on a person’s mind after being charged with OWI is, “Am I still able to drive?” The answer to that question usually depends on the circumstances surrounding the case. In Wisconsin, an occupational license can be requested to allow you to drive to and from work or school. To be eligible for an occupational license, you must have had a valid license prior to its suspension or revocation. You will not be eligible for an occupational license if you have two or more revocation or suspension cases from separate incidents in a one-year period or if you have not served all mandatory waiting periods before applying for the occupational license.

...

New Berlin child custody attorney

One of the biggest fears that parents have when ending their marriage is how divorce will affect their children. Fortunately, most children whose parents get divorced grow up to be happy, successful, and well-adjusted adults. Studies have shown that children of divorce are relatively unaffected by the event as long as they are exposed to marital conflict as little as possible. In order to promote cooperation, Wisconsin courts require parents to attend mediation to try to create a parenting plan before appearing before a judge. If mediation fails or would be inappropriate, then you will need to go to court, where a judge will determine a parenting plan for you. However, if you and your co-parent are able to negotiate a plan among yourselves, this is even more beneficial.

Elements of a Parenting Plan

Every couple that is getting a divorce and has a minor child in the state of Wisconsin is required to file a parenting plan with the court and have it approved by the judge prior to the divorce being finalized. A parenting plan is a legal document that outlines all of the parental duties that each spouse has, especially in regard to legal custody and parenting time (visitation). Other things that should be included in a parenting plan can be information such as:

...

Oconomowoc criminal defense attorney OWI with injury or death

One of the leading causes of death in the nation continues to be motor vehicle accidents. According to the latest data available from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), there were more than 36,500 people who died in traffic accidents in the United States in 2018. Of those individuals, more than 10,500, or 29 percent, were killed because of an alcohol-related traffic accident. In Wisconsin, operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or any other intoxicating substance is illegal and can lead to serious consequences. However, if the injury or death of another person were to result from an OWI charge, you could face even more serious penalties.

Punishments for Injury or Death With OWI

Wisconsin is the last state to punish first-time OWI offenders with a criminal charge, rather than simply a moving violation. Currently, a first-time OWI in Wisconsin can land you a fine of $150 to $300 and a six- to nine-month driver’s license revocation. However, if you cause bodily harm or injury to another person while you were operating a vehicle while intoxicated, even during a first-time offense, you could face $300 to $2,000 in fines, up to one year in prison, and up to a two-year driver’s license revocation. If you have had prior OWI convictions and/or chemical test refusals, you will face stricter penalties. This can be charged as a Class H felony, which carries a possible six-year prison sentence and up to $10,000 in fines.

...
NTL BBB Best DUI Lawyers in Milwaukee EDWBA WACDL Commerce WCBA SBW
Back to Top